(571) 447-5500

The names of new and returning members of the National Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods (NACMCF) have been announced and the committee now includes two EAS Independent Consultants. Returning member, Dr. Omar Oyarzabal who is a professor at the University of Vermont and newly elected member, Dr. Kathy Glass, a professor at the University of Wisconsin at Madison. The NACMCF was established in 1998 by the USDA’s Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS), the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Food and Drug Administration, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Department of Commerce’s National Marine Fisheries Service, and the U.S. Department of Defense and the committee provides impartial scientific advice on issues pertaining to food safety. Says Sonny Perdue, US Secretary of Agriculture, “The committee members represent a diverse group from academia, consumers, the food industry, laboratories, consultants and government agencies, all of which play an important role in providing scientific advice and expertise to USDA on food safety and wholesomeness.”

Posted in FDA and USDA Regulatory Update.